Nobel Prize

David Baltimore, Physiology or Medicine, 1975

“for their discoveries concerning the interaction between tumour viruses and the genetic material of the cell”

Moungi Bawendi, 2023

“for their discovery and synthesis of quantum dots”

Jerome Friedman, Physics, 1990

“for their pioneering investigations concerning deep inelastic scattering of electrons on protons and bound neutrons, which have been of essential importance for the development of the quark model in particle physics”

H. Robert Horvitz, Physiology or Medicine, 2002

“for their discoveries concerning genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death”

Wolfgang Ketterle, Physics, 2001

 “for the achievement of Bose-Einstein condensation in dilute gases of alkali atoms, and for early fundamental studies of the properties of the condensates”

Richard Schrock, Chemistry, 2005

“for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis”

Phillip Sharp, Physiology or Medicine, 1993

“for their discoveries of split genes”

Susan Solomon, Peace Prize, 2007

“for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change”

Samuel C.C. Ting, Physics, 1976

“for their pioneering work in the discovery of a heavy elementary particle of a new kind”

Susumu Tonegawa, Physiology or Medicine, 1987

“for his discovery of the genetic principle for generation of antibody diversity”

Rainer Weiss, Physics, 2017

“for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves”

Frank Wilczek, Physics, 2004

“for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction”

Kavli Prizes

Ann Graybeil, Neuroscience, 2012

“for elucidating basic neuronal mechanisms underlying perception and decision”

Alan Guth, Astrophysics, 2014

“for pioneering the theory of cosmic inflation.”

Rainer Weiss, Astrophysics, 2016

“for the direct detection of gravitational waves.”

Crafoord Prize

Sallie “Penny” Chisholm, Biosciences, 2019

“for the discovery and pioneering studies of the most abundant photosynthesising organism on Earth, Prochlorococcus.”

Susan Solomon, Geosciences, 2018

“for fundamental contributions to understanding the role of atmospheric trace gases in Earth’s climate system”

MacArthur Fellows

Danna Freedman
Laura Kiessling
Eric S. Lander
Nergis Mavalvala
David C. Page
Taylor Perron
Sara Seager
Peter Williston Shor
Marin Soljačić
Joshua Tenenbaum
Alar Toomre
Frank Wilczek
Jack Wisdom

National Medal of Science

Michael Artin
David Baltimore
Sallie “Penny” Chisholm
Ann Graybiel
Rudolf Jaenisch
Daniel Kleppner
Stephen J. Lippard
Phillip Sharp
Susan Solomon
JoAnne Stubbe
Robert Weinberg

National Academy of Sciences

Edward H. Adelson
Michael Artin
Tania Baker
David Bartel
Moungi G. Bawendi
Stephen P. Bell
Bonnie Berger
George B. Benedek
Robert J. Birgeneau
Emilio Bizzi
Edward S. Boyden
Edward A. Boyle
Emery N. Brown
Stephen Buchwald
B. Clark Burchfiel
Bernard F. Burke
Claude Canizares
Sylvia Teresse Ceyer
Sallie “Penny” Chisholm
George W. Clark
Christopher Cummins
Robert Desimone
Kerry A. Emanuel
Robert W. Field
Gerald R. Fink
Daniel Freedman
Jerome I. Friedman
Ann M. Graybiel
Robert Guy Griffin
Alan Grossman
Timothy L. Grove
Victor W. Guillemin
Alan Guth
Larry Guth
Nancy H. Hopkins
H. Robert Horvitz
David E. Housman
Richard O. Hynes
Barbara Imperiali
Roman W. Jackiw
Tyler Jacks
Rudolf Jaenisch
Pablo Jarillo-Herrero
John Joannopoulos
Victor Kac
Nancy Kanwisher
Mehran Kardar
Marc C. Kastner
Wolfgang Ketterle
Laura L. Kiessling
Daniel Kleppner
Alexander M. Klibanov
Monty Krieger
Eric Lander
Patrick A. Lee
Frank T. Leighton
Richard Siegmund Lindzen
Stephen J. Lippard
Harvey F. Lodish
George Lusztig
Nergis Mavalvala
Tomasz S. Mrowka
Daniel Nocera
Terry Orr-Weaver
David C. Page
Mary-Lou Pardue
Sheldon Penman
Gordon H. Pettengill
David E. Pritchard
Aviv Regev
David Sabatini
Robert T. Sauer
Edward Scolnik
Paul L. Schechter
Peter H. Schiller
Richard Schrock
Sara Seager
Phillip A. Sharp
Peter Williston Shor
Susan Solomon
Gigliola Staffilani
Richard P. Stanley
W. Gilbert Strang
Daniel W. Stroock
JoAnne Stubbe
Roger Summons
Timothy M. Swager
Samuel Ting
Susumu Tonegawa
Alar Toomre
David A. Vogan
Graham C. Walker
Robert A. Weinberg
Jonathan Weissman
Rainer Weiss
Xiao-Gang Wen
Frank Wilczek
Jack Wisdom
Carl Isaac Wunsch
Richard A. Young
Feng Zhang
Maria Zuber