

MIT School of Science

Advanced Degree Ceremony

Wednesday, May 28, 2025

3:00 p.m.

Kresge Auditorium

Lord Swraj Paul PC '52 and Angad Paul '92 Theater



Welcome

Dean Nergis Mavalvala

Curtis (1963) and Kathleen Marble Professor of Astrophysics

Commencement address

France Anne Córdova

President, Science Philanthropy Alliance

Conferring of degrees

Master's recipients

Department of Biology

Doctoral recipients

 Investiture by Mary Gehring, David Baltimore Chair in Biomedical Research and Professor of Biology

Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Doctoral recipients

Investiture by Mark Bear, Picower Professor of Neuroscience

Department of Chemistry

Doctoral recipients

 Investiture by Troy Van Voorhis, Department Head and Haslam and Dewey Professor of Chemistry

Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences

Doctoral recipients

 Investiture by David McGee, Department Head and William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences

Department of Mathematics

Doctoral recipients

 Investiture by Michel Goemans, Department Head and RSA Professor of Mathematics

Department of Physics

Doctoral recipients

 Investiture by Lindley Winslow, Associate Department Head and Professor of Physics

MIT-Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Doctoral recipients

 Investiture by Mick Follows, MIT Director of the MIT-WHOI Joint Program, Rudge (1948) and Nancy Allen Professor of Oceanography

Accessible seating and accommodations provided by MIT Disability and Access Services. Scan this QR code for a closed caption stream provided by MIT Audiovisual Services.



Diplomas

Please visit commencement.mit.edu for a list of degree recipients. Degrees will be mailed to recipients. For more information about diplomas, please visit: registrar.mit.edu/transcripts-records/diplomas.

Reception

A reception for all School of Science graduates and their guests will take place outside Kresge.

2025 Commencement Speaker

France Córdova

France Anne Córdova is an astrophysicist and a leader for more than three decades in science, engineering, and education. She is currently president of the Science Philanthropy Alliance, whose mission is to advance science through visionary philanthropy.



She has served in five presidential administrations, both Democratic and Republican, and on both corporate and nonprofit boards. Córdova was the 14th director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), a \$9B independent federal agency; it is the only government agency charged with advancing all fields of scientific discovery, technological innovation, and STEM education. Córdova was nominated to this position by President Barack Obama in 2013 and subsequently confirmed by the U.S. Senate. This appointment followed Cordova's earlier nomination to the National Science Board by President George W. Bush and subsequent confirmation by the U.S. Senate.

Córdova's scientific contributions have been in the areas of observational and experimental astrophysics, multi-spectral research on x-ray and gamma ray sources and space-borne instrumentation. She has published more than 150 scientific papers and numerous science policy papers. Córdova has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society. She is also a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Association for Women in Science (AWIS).